Like Us On Facebook


Vargottama Simha lagna (Leo ascendant in both the natal chart and the Navamsha) is a sign of redoubled obstinancy.* I do not remember a single instance of any mental or emotional flexibility of my late Guruji, Swami Paramananda Saraswati. Such obstinancy was jarring often in the running of his ashrams, where discipline was violated by one and all, individually and collectively.

Swami Paramananda Saraswati's Birth Data

Swami Paramananda Saraswati's Natal chart
Swami Paramananda Saraswati's Natal chart 

Swami Paramananda Saraswati's Navamsha chart
Swami Paramananda Saraswati's Navamsha chart

The most notable feature in the horoscope is that all seven planets (excluding Rahu and Ketu) occupy four rashis (signs), those of Mercury, Venus, Jupiter, and of the Sun†. There is no influence of Mars or Saturn anywhere‡. All major planets are in benefic rashis± and coupled with a vargottama lagna, helped him do his sadhana (spiritual practice) with a single-minded devotion, as would be the envy of many.

He was such a votary of truth and so excellent human being that if he uttered anything it came to pass. Jupiter aspecting his second house gave him vak-siddhi (that state of spiritual progress when whatever the Yogi utters always come out true). Whatever he said came to pass. The word went round, but in the cozy, comfortabl and cultered days of those decades such a gift was respected and not exploited.

† To know the sattvic (pure) quality of a horoscope, this should be seen.

reprinted with permission

Notes by Vaughn Paul Manley:

* Leo is a sthira rashi or fixed sign which gives obstinancy and stubbornness. Here Swami Paramananda Saraswati has Leo ascendant in both the natal chart and the Navamsha which strongly reinforces this characteristic.

‡ Here K.N. Rao is referring to the fact that none of the 7 major planets occupy signs of the malefic planets, Saturn or Mars, and therefore 'there is no influence of Saturn or Mars anywhere.' He is not referring to the aspects of Saturn and Mars which both aspect the ascendant and the Moon, and have signficant influence in the horoscope.

± The benefic rashis (signs) are those that are ruled, or disposited, by the benefic planets - Jupiter, Venus, Mercury, the Moon. The Sun is generally considered a mild malefic in Vedic astrology, however, here K.N. Rao is including it in the list. This point demonstrates the importantance of the role of the dispositor (ruler) in determining the influence of the planets that occupy its sign.