Like Us On Facebook


in Astrology and Karma - ch. 5


In Indian astrology the importance of the Moon is understood clearly because along with the planets here we make use of the twenty-seven constellations (nakshatras or lunar constellations). The scheme to be followed in delineating the contours of anyone's destiny is:

1. Start with the Lagna which is the physical body. 
2. Then examine the Moon, which is the Life Force.
3. The Sun is the Soul.
4. The other planets, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu are the flesh and blood. 

Why the Moon is so important can be understood that in the Indian Panchangas (Indian Ephemeris) which have five elements determined by the position of the Moon.

1. Tithi or lunar day, which uses the Moon's distance from the Sun as the basis.
2. The nakshatra, or what is called the lunar mansion is the star constellation that the Moon is positioned.
3. The Karana is again based on the Moon, it being the half portion of a tithi. 
4. Yoga is again dependent on the positon of the Moon. 
5. The last, Vaar or the day of the birth, is dependent on all other planets. 

The Sun and the Moon, the two luminaries, are the basis for all calculations of a Panchanga on which is dependent the casting of anyone's horoscope. Therefore, the position of the Moon in a horoscope shows the static promise of good and bad events. And the Vimshottari Dasha being dependent on it, therefore the predictions we make about good or bad time periods for an individual is again dependent on it. 

How and when your life force will manifest is decided by the Moon. Since the position of the Moon at birth is not in the hands of the individual, the Moon becomes, next to the lagna, the most important landmark in the story of the prarabdha (prarabdha karma represents the fate of the individual). 

In what we call the balarishta or child mortality (better to say difficulties and mishaps for a child and not death) the main role is that of the Moon. 

reprinted with permission